Connection..

It’s been three days since I last blogged. They say you should update your blog only 2-3 times a month for readers to value your content. But I’ve already posted thrice in 7 days. What can I do? I seem to have fallen in love with writing, I can’t hold back. My greatest fear at the moment is I don’t want to be stereotyped into a “quantity over quality” aimless writer. Oh well, let me just post this one and from here onward, we shall see!

Recently, I was in a conversation with one of my friends, and the term “connection” cropped up quite a few times. And that led me to overthink about what really this term/word/expression means and whether we all are on the same page when we talk about having a “connection”. Physical attraction is the easiest and quickest way humans associate, even without forming other connection (mental or emotional). Usually, this kind of chemistry doesn’t last long and fades with time. But sometimes, physical connection leads to a mental connection. You start enjoying the same things, plan for similar ideas and basically share mutual interests. Umm wait, yes I am inquisitive, so what about the theory “opposites attract”? I’ve always found myself getting attracted to men who are very unlike me. Is it just me? Does that theory not hold true? I’m not speaking of major differences here but minor ones that make relationships not edgy but exciting.

Anyways, I was always confused between mental and emotional connection and thought of them as one. Then, I did my sweet research and I can finally conclude they have different meanings. Isn’t emotionally connecting with somebody all about accepting them with their fears, shortcomings, respecting their beliefs, and appreciating the emotional baggage that person is bringing into the relationship. Life is all about connecting with others, or finding that spark. You make best friends with people who share the same retardation as you do, you fall in love with someone you connect with, on all levels. We all share a special, incomparable connection with family, our siblings. But what is this connection here we are talking about? Is it some pre-fixed criteria in our subconscious mind? Does our mind choose people purposely to connect with? Is our connection based on our expectations, our ideals, our past experiences? Or does it just happen in a flash? Let me know!!

I’ve heard many love stories where couples claim they just “clicked/connected” instantly. I’ve seen that having a connection can be one-sided as well. One person can feel it deeply while other doesn’t feel the same. I’ve played role of both the parties in my life. There was a time I felt nothing at all and the other person felt insanely connected. And then, there’s been a time where my feelings always got triggered because I felt the connection but the other person didn’t. It’s said if we learn to listen to our souls, we can know all the answers. I will add that one-sided connections are still connections, but don’t take my word for it. Find out for yourself!

Brene Brown sums it up beautifully, “Connection is why we are here. We are hardwired to connect with others, it’s what gives meaning and purpose to our lives, and without it there is suffering.”

Sherry 🙂

17 Comments

  1. What a great topic! It’s something that I know is brought up often, but I’ve never thought about it and broke it down. Connection is totally why we start any kind of relationship, personal, business, and romantic. Although I’m not sure exactly what this connection entails, I know it usually is how a conversation is held with someone. If I can carry on a conversation well with someone, I feel we’ve connected somehow.

    I will say that connections do not always come immediately. There have been times where I disliked someone (felt no connection) and eventually grew into some kind of connection (romantic or otherwise). Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nice Post! I really enjoyed your opinion on connection and I agree a lot with what you wrote.
    Glad I took a look ❤

    Also, if possible, I would really appreciate it if you could take a look at my blog. I did my first blog post a few days ago and just put one up today as well. Leave a comment and tell me what you think! 🙂
    https://yannamarie.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have a friend sherry(male).keep writing you write well.
    i will say something and please forgive me if what i wrote below do not have a connection to what you wrote 😛
    Physical attraction,yes it is the fastest.i always wondered why i couldn’t repeat the same number of queries i ask a good looking women to a not so good looking women even when i know
    sometimes the not so good looking could become my best friend 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Dear Sherry, I would like to encourage you to write as much as you can. As a writer, we must not bind ourselves in terms of how people are going to react to it (here, I am speaking of quantity). You must publish as less or more as you write and believe me, the quality covers it all. Now, coming to the theme of your post here, it is a wonderful and powerful subject. I have been blogging for more than 4 months now and I have realized that connecting with others is the best way realize our own value. The community here has given so much encouragement, love and inspiration to me. This is why I keep supporting everyone around with posts like https://mysestina.wordpress.com/2016/08/23/bloggers-pool-increase-traffic-on-your-blog/ .. I have published many other posts on the same theme to encourage everyone and to help the new comers… I am sure the value of community here and anywhere is precious and that is what that keeps us motivated. After all, we are SOCIAL beings… Cheers my dear!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. i feel so connected to this article and even more to the over-thinking head of yours. the questions i read in here were like the ones that keep popping in my head! waiting to read more of your works.. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

