Unsaid and Unspoken

So to be honest, I’ve been thinking of posting this blog from last 7 days. I had edited the draft and given it final touches, but kept procrastinating for some silly reason or the other. Now that doesn’t mean I’m a constant procrastinator. I was a very smart kid in school and always submitted my assignments way before the deadline. Umm OK, that’s enough boasting for today!

“Sometimes, words are better left unsaid.”

How true is that quote? Do you agree? Comment below and let me know your thoughts about it.

As far as I’m concerned, I firmly believe that one should always be open and upfront about what they feel. Trust me, I’ve been in situations where keeping the mouth shut was a very wise option but I chose to speak. I fear living with regrets. But that’s me. Keeping in mind various discussion forums I came across on the internet, I realized how sometime lovers keep quiet out of the fear of rejection or getting hurt, how relatives remain silent on serious issues out of the fear of misunderstanding, how children don’t share their problems with parents because they fear losing their trust or are afraid of being scolded.

I unflinchingly accept that communication is key to a successful relationship. Although, it’s true that actions speak louder than words, taking a moment every now and then to verbalize what’s on your mind isn’t a bad idea either. Pent up feelings can lead to resentments. Speaking your mind doesn’t mean talking irrationally, heating up normal conversations, or adding sarcasm to your babble. There’s definitely a way to get your point across calmly. Unspoken thoughts lead to confused frowns, maybe unseen smiles.

We all have a staid desire to be understood and sometimes we want that to happen magically but it doesn’t. Your words matter, you matter. Now, if only life were that simple! In day-to-day existence, we are often trapped unwary by a situation, thinking later what we should have said, should have done. So seize the favorable time to say what needs to be said, courage to do what needs to be done and that might make a difference. Ending this with a quote: “The bitterest tears shed over graves are for words left unsaid and deeds left undone – Harriet Beecher Stowe

Sherry 🙂

12 Comments

  1. There are two saying in my regional language.. One says, “the one who speaks rules.” second one suggest, “it’s better not to say speak sometimes.” I think both are quite legit and given thought, we will find many situations in our lives which befit it and solve our some thoughts…. Nice article.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sherrr I can relate to this post on so many lines….being super expressive myself, many a times one’s got to be careful to not to cross that thin line between the either of the two…ur writing questions deep thoughts in a right way…looking fwd to reading more of ur work hon =)
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think so too and for various reasons. Sometimes words are not deserving and silence can be more powerful than any words. Every situation is different and it is we who choose with direction we want to take.
    Beautifully written as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice post!

    Sometimes in silence we understand the meaning of things that should remain unsaid!

    “Listen” … to this song … without the volume … it repeats itself … often … but if you endure you will find the meaning of the message.

    Like

Leave a Reply

