Gracias Madre

Aloha everyone!

You all must have guessed by the title of my blog what it is going to be about.
So my mother reads my blog on regular basis. She is my best critic, because she thinks not everything I write is praiseworthy. I can’t wait to see her reaction after she reads this one. I am not doing this to make an impression on her. This is just a very tiny little way of saying thanks to her and acknowledge her emotions, her life, her efforts which she has invested in her kids.
Thanks Ma, for everything!

I am usually a very happy and jolly person but I’ve my share of sad times too. Believe me when I pronounce nothing is more comforting than a mother say, “It will be OK”. My mother has taught me that life isn’t a bed of roses always, we should be thankful for whatever we have, have faith that good things will happen, and never blame the destiny. We, humans, are so ignorant that we hardly recognize when the stroke of luck favored us. She has taught me to be kind to everyone. She’s always really respectful to everyone, no matter who they are or what they’ve done to her in past. She is always willing to move beyond it. (Something I am definitely working on). All in all, my parents have laid such a strong and solid foundation while raising me up and I will forever be grateful to God for blessing me with the best family.

Every year on my granny’s death anniversary, my mom gets immensely emotional. I remember when I was a kid, I always told her, “come on mom, don’t get upset. You are a grown up girl, you can’t be sad”. Being a grown-up now, I’ve realized that the relationship of a mother and her child is so precious, no matter what the age. I can’t imagine my life without her. I will consider myself very lucky if in future when I have kids, I can be a great mom like her.

I have had my ups and downs with my mother, especially during my teens. I blame the age too. It’s natural for parents to be protective and for kids hitting puberty to refute their concern. I feel it’s a phase every individual goes through. But not all mothers are deserving of celebration. When I read on the internet how some women treat their kids, the stories give me goosebumps. I feel blessed for receiving unconditional love from my mom.

I wonder what my kids will take from me. We grow up observing our mothers, daughters are on the lookout of clues of what being a woman might mean : watching her put lipstick, working in the kitchen, laughing on the phone. We have them in our bodies the way we were in theirs (“you have your mother’s eyes”, said my dad). Ending it with a beautiful quote,”May each of us remember this truth; ‘one cannot forget mother and remember God. One cannot remember mother and forget God.’ Why? Because these two sacred persons, God and mother, partners in creation, in love, in sacrifice, in service, are as one.”
― Thomas S. Monson, Pathways To Perfection: Discourses Of Thomas S. Monson

Sherry 🙂

21 Comments

  1. This is so cute…
    I am just imagining right now your mother scolding you like “girl, you made a grammar mistakes here in this post… you aren’t writing well nowadays… hahahahaha” this is so sweet that your mother reads each of your post…
    😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

