Another year older..

img-20161211-wa0008As I’ve said before, it’s my favorite time of the year and I’m filled to the brim with merriment and zest. One of my most-liked things to do is to sit infront of the Christmas tree and tittle-tattle with my niece and nephew. My niece and I have decided to make a gingerbread house from scratch. But for some reason, I’ve a feeling that we will end up buying a pre-baked, unassembled gingerbread house kit that comes with plenty of candy to decorate the house and icing. If it’s a success, then we shall think of baking cookies.

So, I celebrated my birthday past weekend with family and friends. I could write a million good things about how blessed I feel to be surrounded by amazing people but that still wouldn’t match the unconditional love and support I’ve always received from them. One of my friends surprised me with a birthday cake. I mean come on, who doesn’t love surprises, especially when it’s this sweet! Also, there is this book I had been looking for quite some time now. It’s called “The Art of Happiness” by 14th Dalai Lama and Howard C. Cutler. After hunting for weeks, luckily my sister was able to grab hold of the second last hard copy in the city. I don’t know how she does it but she always picks the perfect gift for me. I shall definitely share the reviews once I finish reading it.

People who know me know that I don’t make a big deal out of birthdays as I feel awkward when people treat me any different, in the sense I don’t like having all the attention but for a change I felt like celebrating this year. And the reason I am mentioning it is because this year I gave myself a special gift – my blog and then all of you. It just hit me that next year I should come up with a 1 year blogaversary post as well. Anyhow, my birth date is 13th. Some people believe that it is jinxed and brings in bad luck. If you check on the Internet, there are plenty of superstitions associated with it. I’m going to share a few I am aware of. It’s believed that many buildings don’t have 13th floor, 13 people at a table can’t dine together because it is considered unfortunate, many avoid getting married on this date and so on. My birthday was on Tuesday but I celebrated on Sunday i.e. two days before. Speaking of superstitions, there’s another belief that pre-birthday celebration isn’t a positive sign as one is ‘tempting the fate’ and celebrating something  which is yet to happen. For me, 13 is just another number and celebrating pre or post ocassion doesn’t really matter. Let me know your thoughts whether you also fear number 13 and if yes, then how unlucky is it really?

Sherry 🙂

29 Comments

  1. Many happy returns of the day and a very happy birthday…

    13th as you say is just another number.. I am not sure why the superstition. I mean in a building they don’t have 13th floor.. but do they.. logically there is 13th they just call it 14th..

    All the best with the ginger bread house making. ….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This 13th Thingy started after that movie “Friday the 13th”. Yuck what a horrible movie.
    I don’t think 13th in unlucky, infact for me it is Lucky. Its my Employee Code.
    What I get scared of is 26, because many riots,accidents etc, have happened on 26th and people really fear that number, which adds up to 8.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am sure you must have noticed or not yet that every blog post of yours is a question and an answer within. It’s like seeing our own lives with a different perspective, a different pair of eyes. Different moments but the same feelings.
    You start to write first few lines and then the heart takes it over . Each and every word breathes then after.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s a very keen observation, I must say. If someone asked me what my posts are usually about, I couldn’t have explained it any better than you. Glad you enjoy reading my blog and thanks a ton for the feedback 😊
    Happy Blogging! !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow … what a beauty! … ( and the cake is not bad too! 😉 )

    Happy happy birthday … “better late than never? 🙂

    My best and most sencere wishes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

