My 5

Bonjour les Amis,

It’s February 2nd today, which also happens to be a Groundhog Day. It has been officially declared that spring is just around the corner. Winter this year has been really mild in Toronto, as much as I’m happy about it, I also fear global warming. I remember when I first moved to Canada 6 years ago, it used to snow like crazy. Let me explain to those who are unaware how the groundhog theory works. It’s said that if the groundhog overlooks its shadow while coming out of its dugout, then spring is on the way. Otherwise, the winter extends to another 6 weeks.

Typically, I am in a habit of making lists of to-do things, the stuff I need to shop, how much money I dish out every month, things which need to be done immediately and those of which I can postpone for some time. While I was updating my diary last night, I thought I’d share with you all 5 things that I’d love to do but for some reason or the other, I haven’t checked them off my list yet. My lists are pretty long but the things I’m going to share in this post are minor everyday activities that I often think of accomplishing. Without further ado, let’s get started.

  1. I would love to go to a book store one day, order a cup of coffee and read a book. Honestly, I got no excuse as to why I haven’t done it yet. Do I find it intimidating? I am not sure. I’ve gone solo-shopping many times but never have I once in my life eaten a meal alone at a restaurant nor spent time all by me in a public place.
  2. I wish to do a three-day juice cleanse. I have zero information on how to go about it, if it works, if it’s good for the body or not and so on. Usually, I have seen people talking or doing a 5-day or a 7-day detox diet. I’d like to start with 3, haha because abstaining from food and only sticking to juices is a big commitment. I’d like to take it slow. Every other person on Instagram is doing it; maybe juice cleanses are kind of a big thing now. Even if not, I definitely want to try it for once in my life and I don’t care if they cause more harm than good to the body.
  3. I’m obsessed with food pictures and take many myself. But let me be clear my photography skills aren’t amazing hehe. The thought of taking short photography lessons often comes to my mind. Once my cousin jokingly said, “why don’t you become a food blogger?” I’d terribly fail at that because I almost love everything. I don’t think I’ll be able to criticize the flavors or be more specific on what lacked in the recipe, if the food was authentic enough, etc. But definitely, taking good food pictures excite me. I think I should do it more often and by that I mean, I should try taking GOOD pictures, need to know how to work with poor lighting and proper angles.
  4. I soooooo want to do a head stand. Yes, you heard it right. I feel I am not flexible enough but more than that, I am too scared to injure my head or neck, plus it looks extremely difficult. I’d love to master it before I get old. This is something to which I need to devote my time and hard work.  I just can’t watch a video on YouTube and do it right away. I probably have to follow some routinely exercises to gain courage and strength to reach there.
  5. I really wish to plant a tree. I can do that in my backyard. But thinking is of what good use until I don’t implement it, right? It’s high time I should at least start with the process of thinking what kind of tree I should plant, if there’s more to just digging a hole in the ground, what time or season is the most suitable.

Actually, I could go on and on but don’t want to keep you guys here for long. Tell me in the comments below what’s on your list, be it a goal you want to achieve or a life experience you desire to experience.

Sherry 🙂

Ps- while I was writing this blog at work, someone told me Toronto is going to witness harsh cold in upcoming weeks. Whatever happened to the groundhog lol.

32 Comments

  1. Great post Sherry and each of your desires are only a step away. As far as going out to a book store and grabbing a bite to eat solo, do it. You will find you are good company and as you embrace yourself you will find the world embracing you. Please continue to share your part of the world through your pictures and words because we need to grow and learn from each other.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Many thanks for the feedback. I really appreciate your kind words! And yes, the coffee and book date is definitely happening very soon. I shall share my experience then 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha you MUST! 😆
      And omg, now since you have mentioned that you tried it, I vaguely recall your snapchats. Thanks a lot for helping a sister out hehe. I’m certainly check them out next week! And so glad to know the cleanse isn’t restricted to 5 days and plus.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The first one, coffee and book is my perfect idea of relation and it’s been a while that I haven’t done it. Nothing beats that. I love gazing at the sky and sorely miss my Mumbai days sitting at Marine Drive and watching the train. Btw, white suits you:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Studying a film-making course it is!!!! So, dat i can take some not-so-amateur videos of wildlife on my safari visits 😉 n same pinch on the solo coffee-book experience…such a delightful post sherrr..kisses🌸

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Woah you should definitely go for that. Sounds very interesting. And come on, I’d like to reframe that “amateur” sentence. You have such an incredible body of art with you, I’m sure it will only help working your way up and up! 😊

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks my Bohemian friend for always having my back. I feel so happy that u never forget about me when it comes to awards or challenges (I was your 3 days 3 quotes challenge nominee) 😊 and I shall definitely share my views but I don’t promise when and how soon. Thanks once again. Keep writing and inspiring fellow bloggers 😙

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting. Here’s my list of minor things:

    1. Write about my food experiments min. twice a week (I can do that, but lazy heh)
    2. Cook a delicious meat based dish – not a regular chicken dish with curry. Something spectacular!
    3. Shoot objects/food/nature/people with a DSLR – aka. learn photography as well
    4. Take a break from monotonous work life – no smartphone – maybe visit a nearby hill-top or lake, sit by it and spend the whole day alone. Book & Food will be my only partners.
    5. Drive on national highway and try food at a minimum 4 different dhabas with diff cuisines.

    Sorry, too much food, but I guess that’s what I wanna do 🙂 🙂

    P.S. – Damn, somehow I never get your blog notifications. Resetting options now!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I love the idea of your lists breakdown – especially “things which need to be done immediately and those of which I can postpone for some time.” I always seem to be drawn to the latter when something from the former really NEEDS to be done. Maybe breaking down my list in your way will help.

    Book and coffee? One of my favs. You won’t find yourself alone, either. Headstand is GREAT for abdominal muscles, even if you need to do it against a wall for quite some time (as long as you rely on the wall for balance and not support).

    NOW – about that “alternative facts” groundhog – I awoke to fresh snow the very next morning after his lousy “spring’s coming” day! 🙂
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great list. My son was born on Groundhog Day so it’s one of my favorite celebrations! Just a mention about my juicing days that I did every weekend (and I don’t mean to sound negative). I could only do it one day because I became dizzy by the evening. Maybe the first time you should be sure you’re not expected at work or school when you fast. Juicing can make you ill but that is because your body goes through a healing crisis, so it is a beneficial illness. I do remember the wonderful taste of carrots, celery, cabbage and sometimes beets for sweetness. Even my dog liked it. Now, I only seem to manage a juice once a month. Good luck with all you’ve planned! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. As I was preparing to click on reply I noticed the responder above commented his son was born on Groundhog Day. Had never, ever thought of it before but just now realized my sister was too. Just goes to show how blind we can be to what is so close?

    Loved your post and your willingness to “leave it out there”. Your #1 is the one I related to. I go in a bookstore and browse. Can’t remember the last time I read a book cover to cover. That is a really good goal. I don’t think I have ADD. Maybe only with books.

    I am setting a goal of putting two books of poetry together this next year. Have written enough to fill them but still hoping some new ones are good enough to make it into them. I guess at my age this is more of a bucket list thing than just a goal. LOL! Thanks so much for your post – Come see me at – thereluctantpoetweb.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

