Hasty Apprise

There’s this girl with who I went to school in 2010. We used to sit next to each other and she was my first friend in the class but somehow lost touch after our program finished. We were still on each other’s social media liking and posting comments here and there but barely had a one on one conversation. Recently, also unexpectedly, we both decided to catch up. Yes, we finally met after 7 years for a lovely three course dinner and there wasn’t a single moment of awkwardness or silence. It was a great reunion and a wonderful experience. Initially, I was a bit anxious and thought how the interaction would go because I was seeing her after ages. The day I was supposed to meet her, I clearly remember sitting in the train and thinking what if we are not able to connect like we used to, what if we run out of things to talk about. These thoughts kept coming at me but believe me when I say it was rather a very pleasant meeting. We even went snowshoeing after that (it was a first time experience for both of us and we had a blast) and now I am looking forward to our two upcoming trips next month. I am so glad we met; want to know the icing on the cake? I am starting a new job soon and it’s super close to where she works. That means more meet ups and more fun!! Sometimes I wonder, was it all destined? I mean I had never thought we would get in touch. I found a travelling partner I’d been looking for, I co-incidentally got a job just couple minutes away from hers. It’s dreamlike, like it was meant to be. I am definitely not complaining. Just flabbergasted at how life is filled with pleasant twists and turns. Isn’t that the beauty of living?

HENCE, IF YOU EVER THINK OF RECONNECTING WITH YOUR OLD FRIEND, DO IT. YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT WILL UNFOLD. IF YOU GET REJECTED, DON’T TAKE IT PERSONALLY. AT LEAST YOU TRIED!!

So it’s been 6 months since I stopped eating chicken. I would say currently I am living the life of a vegetarian. Those who know me are well aware of my love for chicken. To say it’s my favorite would be an understatement. Chicken is life. You may ask why this transition then? Well, I always like to challenge myself and test my determination from time to time. I had made an attempt to be a temporary vegetarian 5 years ago as well, and it lasted 14 months (very proud). Let’s see how long this present phase lasts. Trust me, first few weeks are hard but then missing chicken from your diet doesn’t even matter. The best thing about being a vegetarian is I get to try all these new flavors and dishes which I wouldn’t otherwise. I am not here to push my vegetarian ways on any of you or condemn eating meat. It is totally a firsthand pick. I believe in the idea of staying healthy, no matter what diet you choose. I have found my new favorites- butternut squash ravioli with lots of cheese, veggies sautéed in olive oil and sun-dried tomato pesto, brown and mushroom patty, eggplant parmigiana and falafel. All you vegetarians out there, let me know where I can find good veg recipes or any particular dish you would like me to try.

CHALLENGE YOURSELF TO DO SOMETHING. STEP OUT OF THE MONOTONOUS ROUTINE OF LIFE AND FIND A GOAL WHICH IS HARD YET ACHIEVABLE.

BTW, I started my Invisalign treatment two weeks ago. Those of you who are unaware of Invisalign, they are clear aligners that are custom-made for your teeth. It is basically just another teeth-straightening option for those who don’t want to have the traditional metal braces. Of course, these aligners are a bit heavy on the pocket but definitely way more convenient than other methods. My teeth were very sore the first few days that I couldn’t even chew properly. But I’ve gotten used to it now. I can’t wait to show off my perfect smile after 18 months. Yes, that’s how long my treatment will be. Not that I have very crooked or crowded teeth, it was purely a personal choice. I will keep you updated on this specific part of my journey called life.

NO, I WON’T ADVOCATE THAT EVERYONE SHOULD GET BRACES HAHA BUT HEY, IT’S A MYTH THAT THE BEST AGE FOR ORTHODONTIC TREATMENT IS 12-14. IT’S NEVER TOO LATE TO BEAUTIFY YOUR SMILE.

Sherry 🙂

7 Comments

  1. Definitely meeting an old friend after so long and not having a awkward moment… I can relate to that I met one of my friends from school times after almost 20 odd years..

    Good luck with the vegetarianism 😀 I for one will not be able to survive without meat here in uk.. almost all the food to go is with meat…

    And maybe you can put a pic of the lovely smile after 18 months … smile and the world smiles with you…😀😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You just reminded me of a friend I met after ages, whom I know since almost 28 years and have grown up together. There were a few hiccups in our friendship earlier, but as they say, the older the whisky, the better it is. I think if not better, but it was a good start to a lost friendship.

    This column of yours is such a swift read.

    Also, great to know that you are challenging yourself and being determined. I myself have tried a lot of things but eventually unable to remain too focussed. I guess your post might motivate me again 🙂

    Good one!
    Cheers
    Shred

    Liked by 1 person

  3. O it must b so lovely to reconnect with an old school friend…Reminiscing old memories !!!!
    Hehee i had braces too sherrr but in 9th grade n i had them in pink thinking the colour would make them look trendy 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We have a whatsup group of my whole school gang. From 1st class till now. We have fun meet up. And whoever is going to a particular country. Like States, so the States guys come and meet them. It’s a must. So school folks are always love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

